To Him We Shall Return

Capital, column and arch in Alhambra of Granad...

I found this amazing poem by Jalal al Din Muhammad Rumi (1207-1273 from Persia) which describes his thoughts on life after death and it is truly inspiring:

I died as a mineral and I became a plant,
I died as a plant and rose to animal,
I died as animal and I was man.
Why should I fear?
When was I less for dying?
Yet, once more, I shall die as man
to soar with the angels blest.
But even from angelhood I must pass on: all except God doth perish.
When I have sacrificed my angel soul, I shall become what no mind e’er conceived.
Oh, let me not exist,
for non-existence proclaims in organ tones,

To Him We Shall Return

2 Comments

Filed under body and soul, Famous Theologians, Islam, Life after Death, Other religions, Poetry, Resurrection

2 responses to “To Him We Shall Return

  1. It is very interesting to see an Islamic poet using, albeit as a metaphor, the concept of reincarnation and eventual annihilation (‘moksha’) from Hinduism, in expressing a soul’s return to existence in/with God. A reminder perhaps that historically Persia was a cultural crossroads.

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    author/poet/editor
    Scotland

Leave a Reply

