I am the Master of my fate

God, the Father watches us all everywhere.

God, the Father watches us all everywhere. (Photo credit: angelofsweetbitter2009)

This is one of the most compelling lines in poetry that I have ever read. And as much as I believe in a loving and personal God, I also believe that this is true; at the end of the day it is us who have to make the decisions and who have to do – something, anything. God helps us and strengthens us but it is left to us to finish the job. Sometimes I ask myself why that is so; as everyone who looks at the world can see, that we are continuously making the wrong decisions. So why would God let us, why would he let us ruin everything? The answer is complicated and faceted and, I guess, there is not one right answer to begin with. For me, at least, it comes down to this: If we don’t have the freedom to make mistakes, even if they are terrible and if we don’t have the freedom to have to live with the consequences of those mistakes – and I am talking about both societal and personal mistakes – then how exactly are we supposed to learn anything? How are we supposed to develop, to grow, to achieve any kind of progress – again, both on a personal and a societal level? So what God is actually doing, is that he, like any good parent, has decided to let us out of the children’s safe place into the adult world and now we have to cope with it. He is still there to help us, to guide us, to support us. But he also knows, if we are to achieve anything at all, he must leave us our space. And this is where we all, every single one of us and every nation or culture or religion, are the masters of our own fate.

Here is, how this doesn’t work at all: What happens, when someone else makes a bad decision, and I am the one being hurt or badly affected? Maybe that guy doesn’t even know what he is doing or it looks like he profits from the misery of others. Is that really helping either one to grow? I don’t know what to say to that. Any thoughts?

1 Comment

Filed under good vs. bad, Philosophy

One response to “I am the Master of my fate

  1. Pingback: Creation and… well, what? | thoughtsonmyfaith

Leave a Reply

